Day 399


If something’s not working don’t keep doing it because it’s what you did yesterday– that’s what I learned today 🙂

It’s 7: 36 PM on day 399 of my journey towards independence and I’ve managed to brush my teeth, drink coffee by myself, publish my Disability of the Day feature–I prepared it yesterday night –Facebook about my Clean Water For All Campaign – no luck –  type up three more pages for my mother, prepare my Kid of the Week feature for Sunday, prepare my Disability of the Day feature for tomorrow, tweet about my campaign –still no luck–   feed myself rice and curry for lunch,  watch TV and feed myself yoghurt for dinner.

About four days ago I decided to incorporate the things I needed to learn to become independent into my life – I was no longer going to create situations to practice doing things I would practice doing them when the situations actually arose – sadly things aren’t happening quite as organically as I hoped they would – my mother always insists that I spit the toothpaste into the cup instead of in the sink so that I don’t have to struggle to lean over the sink – so I am switching back to the old method of practice practice practice while my mother is at work especially since I won’t be able to practice when we go to India in about two months time – if you have no idea what I’m talking about refer to Day 355why am I telling you all this to let you know that the only thing worse than doing something that doesn’t work for one day is continuing to do it for the rest of your life. Are you doing what you’re doing because it’s what you did yesterday?

Are we connecting on Twitter? If not, say hi at http://twitter.com/Nisha360

If you’ve given to my cause or you can’t give now, please help me by sharing my cause with others. You can tweet about it like my friend Stan Faryna. This is the tweet he uses: @Nisha360 is a brave, smart young woman trying to make a better world for us all. Please help her do an amazing thing. http://bit.ly/hC7vOu

Stan’s very sweet for saying so, but feel free to write what reflects you best.

Thanks to all my friends out there who are helping me make my dream come true: to make a better world for all of us!

Leave a comment