Day 359


All things worth having only double when you share it – that’s what I learned today 🙂

It’s 6: 12 PM on day 359 of my journey towards independence and I’ve managed to brush my teeth, feed myself chicken nuggets for breakfast, tweet about my Clean Water For All Campaign – no luck – feed myself an avocado sandwich for lunch,  watch TV and feed myself grilled chicken for dinner.

As most of you know even before I had a cent to my name I committed to giving twenty-five percent of it to charity and today I am going to list all the charities I donated to – from first to last – not as a means of being boastful but rather to inspire you to share however little or much you have with those who have less than you. Take a look:

Organizations and people that inspired me to put my money where my mouth is

Donating to Kids Caring 4 Kids was a full-circle moment for me because Kendall – the founder of Kids Caring 4 Kids – was the one who inspired me to start giving – refer to Who I Am if you have no idea what I’m talking about.

Sophie Brown

Sophie Brown is a 15-year-old girl from the UK who after visiting Uganda with her mom decided that she would return to Uganda this summer with enough money to  build a classroom for village children in South-West Uganda and the reason I decided to help her (Note: Her fundraiser is now over)  was because I knew how hard she worked – she tweeted everybody she thought could help – and I could relate to that because there have been days when I’ve asked hundreds of people to make donations to my campaign only to get an I’ll think about it.

When I saw and heard about what was going on  in Somalia on the news there was NO WAY I could sit back and do nothing and the reason I chose World Food Programme was because they rely solely on voluntary donations which means if we don’t donate people don’t eat.

Last but not least I donated to my campaign because I am the kind of person who walks the talk – I can’t expect you to donate if I’m not willing to 🙂

Are we connecting on Twitter? If not, say hi at http://twitter.com/Nisha360

If you’ve given to my cause or you can’t give now, please help me by sharing my cause with others. You can tweet about it like my friend Stan Faryna. This is the tweet he uses: @Nisha360 is a brave, smart young woman trying to make a better world for us all. Please help her do an amazing thing. http://bit.ly/hC7vOu

Stan’s very sweet for saying so, but feel free to write what reflects you best.

Thanks to all my friends out there who are helping me make my dream come true: to make a better world for all of us!

Leave a comment