Day 54


I often wondered how God/whatever you chose to call your higher power decided who to let through the gates of Heaven and today I figured out that at the end of your life you will be judged by your heavenly actions rather than your earthly possessions. If you died today would you deserve to walk through the gates of Heaven? 🙂

It’s 4: 04 PM on day 54 of my journey towards independence and I’ve managed to brush my teeth, feed myself Uppumavu – is an Indian dish made of rava. The name is an amalgam of two words : “salt” and “flour – and bananas for breakfast, tweeted about my Clean Water For All Campaign – I’m starting to sound like a broken record I know but I won’t quit until everybody knows that ANYBODY can change the world –    feed myself rice and curry for lunch and exercise for 30 minutes – I was in anguish the entire time I was doing it but I smiled through it because I didn’t want my mother to see how much in pain I was.

I seldom get angry and even when I do I am ALWAYS in control but today when I heard and saw how my parents and other family members treated my grandma – saying stuff like don’t talk to your grandma she doesn’t know what she’s saying – I was absolutely LIVID and I said to my mother if this is how “normal” people treat each other  then I’m glad I’m abnormal and with that I turned to my grandma and continued talking to her  in our native tongue of Malayalam – the only language that she understands.       

2 responses to “Day 54

  1. What a wonderful grand-daughter you are Nisha!

Leave a Reply

