Day 52


Ask for what you want and be prepared to get it!” – Maya Angelou. Have you ever gotten something that you wanted only to discover that it wasn’t wanted you after all? 🙂

It’s 5: 49 PM on day 52 of my journey towards independence and I’ve managed to brush my teeth, feed myself All-Bran Flakes  for breakfast, learn  Analytical Geometry – I know what secants, chords and tangents are –   feed myself rice and curry for lunch,  wheel myself  from one end of the sitting room to the other – as I was doing it I suddenly had an epiphany I realized that nobody can cheer for me as loud as I can cheer for myself –   and practised turning myself from one side to another on the bed – I know that I have a GREAT life and believe me when I say that I am SO very grateful but there are days when I wish I didn’t have to try so hard to do EVERY little thing.

You remember the party I wrote about on Sunday – the one I wasn’t sure my parents would take me to – well I did end up going and when I got there I finally understood why my father didn’t want me to go – there were close to a 100 people there and most of them just walked passed me not even bothering to look me in the eye – I had NEVER in my life felt more invisible 😦

2 responses to “Day 52

  1. Nisha,
    I’ve been in a similar situation when I was young, and beset W/the insecurities that are part of growing up in a Society that values Cash more than Character! It’s just how the System and the Status Quo don’t take into account the Subtle Aspects of what constitute the actual makeup of the Human Being. It’s not important to your growth as a Human Being, it’s what Compassion & Empathy you develop that really matter Sweetie. It’s the fact that you notice & can describe your feelings that’s the most important issue here! Most people can’t identify with Human Beings that exist outside the narrow Framework of their Subjective Universe & that deprives them of access to 99.99% of their World! I’ve got MS & my life allows for & necessitates viewing the World through a Marvelous Prism that magnifies my Empathy & Compassion for all, much as UR CP has for U!UR a very Brave&Compassionate Soul my Dear Friend!

Leave a Reply

