Day 42


Have you ever noticed that every child in a family has a label? In my family there are three of us each with our own labels to live up to – I was the ‘helpless’ one, my sister was the ‘smart’ one and my brother was the ‘cute’ one – and true to form my sister is a straight A student, my brother gets away with just about anything on account of his birth order and cuteness and I couldn’t even feed myself cereal until recently – thank God nothing in life is set in stone 🙂

It’s 4:50 PM day 42 of my journey towards independence and I’ve managed to brush my teeth, feed myself Oats for breakfast, did two hours of exercise – my grandma grandma’s facial expression made me laugh it was like she was waiting for me to break a hip or something LOL 🙂 and feed myself rice and curry for lunch.

Although I am grateful for all my newfound abilities I now feel twice as invisible as I did before because my helplessness was my identity and now that I’m not as helpless as I used to be it’s like my family doesn’t know what to do with me – you know what they say be careful what you wish for 🙂

Leave a Reply

