Day 33


All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is that good men do nothing Edmund Burke. Are you a good person allowing evil to triumph? 🙂

It’s 3:27 PM on day 33 of my journey towards independence and I’ve managed to feed myself  toast and eggs for breakfast, wheel myself to the threshold of the kitchen – which I thought I would never be able to do because it required me to use both my hands – I almost never use my right-hand so the fact that I was able to do that is a HUGE deal for me – feed myself rice and curry for lunch and brush my teeth – if you’ve been reading my blog you will know that that was another thing on the list of things I  wanted to learn how to do by myself and since it was my first time doing it, it was invariable that I would make a bit of a mess and boy did I make a mess –  I couldn’t lean over the sink properly and as a result I spat half the toothpaste onto my sweater – when my mother saw the toothpaste stain on my sweater she looked at me and said oh well at least you brushed your teeth – I think my attitude of gratitude is finally rubbing off on her 🙂

The theme of today’s blog post was going to be about something completely different but then life happened as it almost does – I was the repeat of Oprah’s Earth Day episode where they showed a clip from the Academy Award-winning documentary The Cove – it told the story of the annual dolphin slaughter that takes place in a National Park at Taiji, Wakayama, in Japan from an ocean conservationists point of view – I knew that I to do something when I saw the sea water turning red – literally – from the blood of the more than 20, 000 slaughtered dolphins so I signed the letter to President Obama, Vice President Biden and Japanese Ambassador to the United States Ichiro Fujisaki   asking them to urge the Japanese government to revoke permits that allow Japan’s Fisheries Agency who continue to condone this heinous practice and I’m asking to follow in my footsteps and help save Japan’s dolphins because I believe that if we all shout at the same time our world leaders will have no choice but to listen 🙂

One response to “Day 33

  1. Great job using your right hand!

Leave a Reply

