Rise in Fath: A letter to my five-year-old self


Dear Nisha

I am the older and hopefully much wiser version of you, I am now 19, healthy and happy – well most of the time anyway –  but, I haven’t forgotten all the roads I’ve had to cross and all the paths I’ve had to walk – no-pun intended – to get to where I am today.

There are things in your life that will happen to you that you won’t deserve – like today when dad tried to pummel mom over the head with the brown chair you were sitting on – I am so sorry you had to go through that I know how scared you were but, trust me I am from the future and I KNOW you will be all that you were meant to me and so much more. There will be things in your life that you will see that you’ll wish to God that you hadn’t – like the fear in mom’s eyes every time dad gets the least bit angry – I am so sorry you have to see that no child deserves to feel such pity for their mother at such a young age but, trust me when I say  that you will be a woman to behold one day. There will be things in your life that you  will hear that just aren’t meant for children’s’ ears – like when your dad says to your mom – in front of you and your siblings –  “my life has been nothing but a misery ever since you and these kids came into it” – I am sorry you have to hear no child deserves to hear those words coming out their father’s mouth but, trust me when I say that you will change the world one day and inspire others to do the same.

There are going to be some tough times ahead but, whenever you feel alone or afraid just hold onto God and RISE in faith.

Leave a Reply

